bad news, and two bits of good news.

June 16, 2008

The bad news is that my camera drowned.

The good news is 1) that I found a great deal on the same camera and it is SLOWLY on its way via free shipping, and 2) that I have all those photos I downloaded from floppies to keep us company as we wait.

So here’s the first in the walk-down-memory-lane collection. This is the first house B’s dad and I ever lived in – 526 Union Ave. in Rock Hill, South Carolina if anyone is interested in visiting.

We lived in an apartment a few blocks away and we’d drive by this house occasionally and every, single time I would say, I want to live in that house. If it went up for sale, we’d buy it. If it was available to rent, we’d move. Imagine my sheer and utter surprise (and JOY!) when one day we drove by and there was a for rent sign in the yard. We called that day.

The rent was steep for us – $600 a month. – but we filled out an application anyway. And we waited, and waited, and waited. It seemed like an eternity. Of course that could have also been because I was enrolled in a summer school Logic class with Houston Craighead at the time and that made the month drag. At any rate, we got it. Man I loved that house. We both did. It exuded something.

One day we were exploring the attic and we found a street sign that said Goodplace. We pulled the sign out of the attic and hung it in the halllway and, from there on out, that’s what we called the house. Lots of wonderful things happened there, including the arrival of Mr. B. It certainly lived up to its name and we were very sad to have to leave it when we moved to Arizona.

Baedyn and I drove by last summer when I was in town and it looked so small. I hadn’t noticed how life gets bigger with time. Don’t get me wrong, I would move there in a second if my life would allow it – it’s still Goodplace. It’s just that life has changed so much in the last ten years and I hadn’t quite realized how much so until I saw Goodplace again.

Leave a Reply

