the arrival of b.

June 18, 2008

My midwife originally gave me a September 12th due date, but based on B’s growth at the 20 week ultrasound, she upped it to the 9th – 9/9/99 – saying they’d likely miscalculated.

The ninth of September rolled around, and then the twelfth. I was in agony and at my appointment on the 12th, I begged the midwife to induce me. She wouldn’t. She guessed that the baby was likely only 6 pounds, tops, and we’d give him a little more time to grow before he faced the world. Famous last words.

A week later, he was finally ready to make his grand entrance. My water broke in the middle of the night, more serious contractions started, and we were on our way to the hospital. With the water gone, it was easier for the midwife to gauge the baby’s size. Now she was guessing he was more like 8 pounds. Uh huh.

Twenty one hours later when I heard a nurse say, “We’ve got a linebacker here,” and another voice in the room start taking bets on if he was 11 or 12 or 13 pounds – I knew that he’d surpassed expectations.

Baedyn Elijah was born 9/19/99 at 12:45am weighing 9 pounds, 14 oz and 21 inches long, earning him the nickname – Ten Pound Brown.

Here he is at one week:

A lot of people ask about his name. We had four names picked out – a girl’s and a boy’s for each of us. Mine were Bayden Elijah and Julia Wisdom, Ben’s were Finnean Xavier and Alana Wren. We tossed coins. Ben got the girl, I got the boy. So when B was born, it was my call. But then, as we were filling out the birth certificate, we had a disagreement on how Baedyn should be spelled. Ben won that one.

3 Responses to “the arrival of b.”

  1. seenoevilonline said

    Wow. If you gave birth to a nine pound baby, I think you can handle anything.

  2. wrornemoni said

    i am gonna show this to my friend, man

Leave a Reply

